Miss Magnetiq. Episode 4: North Pole – South Pole – Cow Dung

Octo­ber 2018 /// 
Vor­der­sto­der ///

After an exten­ded edu­ca­tio­nal lea­ve, atten­ding nume­rous coo­king clas­ses and a stay abroad in Magne­to­pol, Miss Magne­tiq has reap­peared on the screen. In her cur­rent epi­so­de, tog­e­ther with her assi­stants Nickel, Cobalt and Man­ga­ne­se as well as two cow assi­stants, she dedi­ca­tes herself to an important task, name­ly the rese­arch of magne­tic cows.

A few years ago, Miss Magne­tiq beca­me awa­re of this rese­arch object during her dai­ly lec­tu­re of ORF Online arti­cles: “Far­mers have known this phe­no­me­non for a long time: Cows like to look in the same direc­tion when gra­zing. The­re were many hypo­the­ses to jus­ti­fy this beha­viour, inclu­ding the fact that they turn towards the sun so that as lar­ge a part of their body as pos­si­ble is illu­mi­na­ted. Howe­ver, this left the ques­ti­on open why the ani­mals also show a clear ori­en­ta­ti­on on clou­dy days. Hynek Bur­da and his col­leagues the­re­fo­re exami­ned ano­t­her the­sis three years ago, name­ly that cows fol­low earth magne­tism. To pro­ve this, they ana­ly­sed a total of 308 pic­tures of pas­tu­res on which around 8,500 ani­mals gra­zed – all taken from the satel­li­te image pro­gram Goog­le Earth. The eva­lua­ti­on, which the rese­ar­chers descri­bed as ‘sta­tis­ti­cal­ly signi­fi­cant’, clear­ly indi­ca­ted a north-south ori­en­ta­ti­on of the cows”. (ORF Online, 15 Novem­ber 2011)

In a sci­en­ti­fic test series in autumn 2018, Miss Magne­tiq tried to chan­ge the north-south ori­en­ta­ti­on of a herd of cows on a Vor­der­sto­der Alm in Upper Aus­tria with her super­powers. Wit­hout suc­cess. Cobalt’s com­men­ted on this suc­cinc­t­ly: “!gnud oomyl­woC !citen­gam epon oomyl­woC”

Pho­tos: qujOchÖ

Miss Magnetiq. Episode 4: Nordpol – Südpol – Kuhmist

Okto­ber 2018
Vor­der­sto­der

Nach einer aus­ge­dehn­ten Bil­dungs­ka­renz, dem Besuch von zahl­rei­chen Koch­kur­sen und einem Aus­lands­auf­ent­halt in Magne­to­pol ist Miss Magne­tiq wie­der auf der Bild­schirm­flä­che auf­ge­taucht. In ihrer aktu­el­len Epi­so­de wid­met sie sich dabei gemein­sam mit ihren Gehil­fen Nickel, Kobalt und Man­gan sowie zwei Kuhas­sis­ten­tin­nen einer wich­ti­gen Auf­ga­be, näm­lich der Erfor­schung von magne­ti­schen Kühen.

Auf­merk­sam wur­de Miss Magne­tiq auf die­sen For­schungs­ge­gen­stand vor eini­gen Jah­ren bei der täg­li­chen Lek­tü­re von ORF Online: “Bau­ern ken­nen die­ses Phä­no­men seit lan­gem: Kühe schau­en beim Gra­sen ger­ne in die glei­che Rich­tung. Hypo­the­sen zur Begründung die­ses Ver­hal­tens gab es vie­le, unter ande­rem dass sie sich zur Son­ne dre­hen, damit ein mög­lichst gro­ßer Teil ihres Kör­pers beschie­nen wird. Das ließ jedoch die Fra­ge offen, war­um die Tie­re auch an bewölk­ten Tagen eine ein­deu­ti­ge Aus­rich­tung zei­gen. Hynek Bur­da überprüfte mit sei­nen Kol­le­gen des­halb vor drei Jah­ren eine ande­re The­se, dass näm­lich Kühe dem Erd­ma­gne­tis­mus fol­gen. Um das zu bele­gen, ana­ly­sier­ten sie ins­ge­samt 308 Auf­nah­men von Wei­den, auf denen rund 8.500 Tie­re gras­ten – alle­samt vom Satel­li­ten­bild­pro­gramm Goog­le Earth auf­ge­nom­men. Die Aus­wer­tung, die die For­scher als ‘sta­tis­tisch signi­fi­kant’ bezeich­ne­ten, wies ein­deu­tig auf eine Nord-Süd-Ausrichtung der Kühe hin.” (ORF Online, 15. Novem­ber 2011)

In einer wis­sen­schaft­li­chen Test­rei­he ver­such­te Miss Magne­tiq mit ihren Super­kräf­ten im Herbst 2018 die Nord-Süd-Aus­rich­tung einer Kuh­her­de auf einer Vor­der­sto­der Alm in Ober­ös­ter­reich umzu­po­len. Ohne Erfolg. Der lapi­da­re Kom­men­tar von Kobalt dazu lau­te­te: “!tsiM umi­luK !hcsi­ten­gaM xin umi­luK”

Fotos: qujOchÖ