Linzbased #4: Renée Chvatal & Katharina Anna Loidl

Renée Chva­tal (AT) ///

Katha­ri­na Anna Loidl (AT) ///

Thu, June 6 2019, 8 p.m. ///
quitch, Unte­re Donau­län­de 10, Linz ///

When inter­na­tio­nal ten­ders, calls and app­li­ca­ti­ons are made or bio­gra­phi­cal infor­ma­ti­on is trans­la­ted into Eng­lish, it is not uncom­mon to indi­ca­te the ori­gin with the cent­re of one’s life and work – sup­ple­men­ted by the term „based“. But what does it mean, this „Linz­ba­sed“?

qujOchÖ sets out to find it. At regu­lar inter­vals, artists living and working in Linz are invi­ted to a talk. Tho­se will not only focus on the cur­rent work of the artists, their used methods, tech­ni­ques and mate­ri­als, or by whom they are influ­en­ced in their work, but also on the living and working envi­ron­ment that the city of Linz offers them.

What do you value most about Linz? What still keeps you in this city? How often have you thought of moving away fore­ver? What influ­ence does the Linz art and cul­tu­re sce­ne have on your own actions? What do you miss? Is the­re such a thing as a „Linz cul­tu­re“? What does Linz­ba­sed mean to yours­elf? And in any case: What’s a Linz?

For the fourth edi­ti­on of „Linz­ba­sed“ Renée Chva­tal and Katha­ri­na Anna Loidl are invi­ted for a talk.

Renée Chva­tal, lives and works in Linz
reneechvatal.blogspot.com

2014 Bache­lor stu­dies in Fashion Design at the Fashion School Het­zen­dorf

2018 Mas­ter stu­dy for tex­ti­le, art and design at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Arts Linz

2015 – 2019 Nume­rous art pro­jec­ts for RAUMSCHIFF, in addi­ti­on always own works in fashion design, sin­ce 2018 mem­ber of the exe­cu­ti­ve board of the KUPF (Cul­tu­ral Plat­form Upper Aus­tria), sin­ce 2019 mem­ber of Raum­tei­ler

Katha­ri­na Anna Loidl, lives and works in Linz
lllk.at

2012 Diplo­ma stu­dies in Cul­tu­ral Stu­dies and Expe­ri­men­tal Design at the Insti­tu­te of Fine Arts of the Uni­ver­si­ty of Arts Linz

Nume­rous exhi­bi­ti­ons, a. o. MAERZ Linz, Salz­amt Linz, LENTOS Linz, 20ger Haus Ried im Inn­kreis, Forum Stadt­park Graz, peri­scope Salz­burg, Kunst­raum St. Vir­gil Salz­burg, Kunst­samm­lung Art Collec­tion of the Sta­te of Upper Aus­tria, Pro­get­ti Arte Con­tem­pora­nea Flo­rence, Stadt­ga­le­rie Bern, Künst­ler­haus Dort­mund, EGON SCHIELE ART CENTRUM Čes­ký Krum­lov, SPOROBOLE Cent­re en art actu­el Que­bec, Sewon Art Space Yogya­kar­ta, SKÁLAR Fes­ti­val in Ice­land, Bris­tol Diving School

Linzbased #4: Renée Chvatal & Katharina Anna Loidl

Renée Chva­tal (AUT) ///

Katha­ri­na Anna Loidl (AUT) ///

Do, 6. Juni 2019, 20:00 Uhr ///
quitch, Unte­re Donau­län­de 10, Linz ///

Bei inter­na­tio­na­len Aus­schrei­bun­gen, Calls und Bewer­bun­gen oder bei der eng­li­schen Über­set­zung von bio­gra­fi­schen Anga­ben ist es nicht unüb­lich, die Her­kunft mit der Nen­nung des Lebens- und Arbeits­mit­tel­punkts, ergänzt um ein „based“ anzu­ge­ben. Was bedeu­tet es aber, die­ses „Linz­ba­sed“?

qujOchÖ macht sich auf die Suche danach. In regel­mä­ßi­gen Abstän­den wer­den dazu in Linz leben­de und arbei­ten­de Künstler_innen zu einem Gespräch ein­ge­la­den. Dabei wird nicht nur erör­tert, wor­an die Künstler_innen der­zeit arbei­ten, wel­che Metho­den, Tech­ni­ken und Mate­ria­li­en sie ein­set­zen oder von wem sie in ihrem Tun beein­flusst sind, son­dern auch, was ihnen die Stadt Linz an Lebens- und Arbeits­um­ge­bung bie­tet.

Was schätzt man beson­ders an Linz? Was hält einen noch in die­ser Stadt? Wie oft hat man schon dar­an gedacht, für immer weg­zu­zie­hen? Wel­chen Ein­fluss hat die Lin­zer Kunst- und Kul­tur­sze­ne auf das eige­ne Tun? Was geht einem ab? Gibt es so etwas wie eine „Lin­zer Kul­tur“? Was bedeu­tet Linz­ba­sed für einen selbst? Und über­haupt: What’s a Linz?

Für die vier­te Aus­ga­be von „Linz­ba­sed“ sind Renée Chva­tal und Katha­ri­na Anna Loidl zum Gespräch gela­den.

Renée Chva­tal, lebt und arbei­tet in Linz
reneechvatal.blogspot.com

2014 Bache­lor­stu­di­um für Mode­de­sign an der Mode­schu­le Het­zen­dorf

2018 Mas­ter­stu­di­um für Textil.Kunst.Design an der Kunst­uni­ver­si­tät Linz

2015 – 2019 zahl­rei­che Kunst- und Kul­tur­pro­jek­te für das RAUMSCHIFF, dazu immer wie­der eigen­stän­di­ge Arbei­ten im Bereich Mode­de­sign, seit 2018 im Vor­stand der Kul­tur­platt­form Ober­ös­ter­reich, seit 2019 Mit­glied im Ver­ein Raum­tei­ler

Katha­ri­na Anna Loidl, lebt und arbei­tet in Linz
lllk.at

2012 Diplom­stu­di­um Kul­tur­wis­sen­schaf­ten und Expe­ri­men­tel­le Gestal­tung am Insti­tut Bil­den­de Kunst der Kunst­uni­ver­si­tät Linz

zahl­rei­che Aus­stel­lun­gen, u. a. MAERZ Linz, Salz­amt Linz, LENTOS Linz, 20ger Haus Ried im Inn­kreis, Forum Stadt­park Graz, peri­scope Salz­burg, Kunst­raum St. Vir­gil Salz­burg, Kunst­samm­lung des Lan­des Ober­ös­ter­reich, Pro­get­ti Arte Con­tem­pora­nea Flo­renz, Stadt­ga­le­rie Bern, Künst­ler­haus Dort­mund, EGON SCHIELE ART CENTRUM Čes­ký Krum­lov, SPOROBOLE Cent­re en art actu­el Que­bec, Sewon Art Space Yogya­kar­ta, SKÁLAR Fes­ti­val in Island, Bris­tol Diving School