The great manoeuvre @ steirischer herbst

Ope­ning of the exhi­bi­ti­on: 
Sat, Sep­tem­ber 25 2010, 16:00 /// 
Jako­mi­ni­stra­ße, Graz ///

Dura­ti­on of the exhi­bi­ti­on: 
Sep­tem­ber 25 – Octo­ber 17 2010

Artists talk: 
Octo­ber 2 and 9 2010, 15:00

Scree­ning I
Sat, Octo­ber 2 2010, 17:00 – 19:15
Wer­ner Rydl: The gre­at mano­eu­vre
Wer­ner Rydl: Embar­go (Bur­ning Money)
Wall Street: Sequence of the “greed is good”-speech from Gor­don Gek­ko
Futur­a­ma: Epi­so­de “Future Stock”

Scree­ning II:
Sat, Octo­ber 9 2010, 17:00 – 19:15
Der “European Kings Club – E.K.C.” (1991–1994)
“L’objet du Scan­da­le” de Guil­lau­me Durand – Jérô­me Ker­viel
The Pon­zi Sche­me (trai­ler)
Bombs, Bul­lets and Fraud – Dis­co­ver the Ori­gi­nal Pon­zi Sche­me (sequence)

Nowa­days you can not pro­ve if an input tax is accep­ted reck­less­ly or not – and her­ein lies the gre­at mano­eu­vre whe­re you are able to mani­pu­la­te amount of taxes and direct them to a desi­red direc­tion.” (Inter­view with Wer­ner Rydl on Octo­ber 13th 2004 in Sirinhaem/Brasil)

Dubio­us deals, money laun­de­ring, gree­dy ban­kers – the cur­rent cri­sis is focu­sing the public eye on the sha­dy tac­tics of a few tricks­ters on the inter­na­tio­nal finan­ci­al mar­kets. While some react with accu­sa­ti­ons and others with appease­ments, the Linz-based art collec­tive qujOchÖ exami­nes the methods of tho­se who exploit finan­ci­al-capi­ta­list inter­ac­tions for their own pur­po­ses and cheat the sys­tem in an inge­nious and inscruta­ble man­ner. The ana­ly­sis focu­ses on real indi­vi­du­als and their prac­tices, rep­re­sen­ting them in a com­plex instal­la­ti­on: how could so many peop­le fall for the hazar­dous pro­mi­ses of Charles Pon­zi? Why was Ivan “The Ter­ri­ble” Boes­ky applau­ded for his “greed is all right” speech? How did Wer­ner Rydl come to burn 167 mil­li­on Aus­tri­an Schil­lings in Bra­zil? On a mad tour, qujOchÖ pres­ents the sto­ries and tac­tics of the tricks­ters of finan­ci­al capi­ta­lism.

Bey­ond moral fin­ger-wag­ging and sim­ply pil­l­o­ry­ing tricks­ters, qujOchÖ has come up with a demons­tra­ti­ve ges­tu­re that crea­tes a field of ten­si­on with tri­cky finan­ci­al spe­cu­la­ti­ons. Fol­lo­wing indepth dis­cus­sion, the art collec­tive has deci­ded to mul­ti­ply the pro­duc­tion bud­get pro­vi­ded by stei­ri­scher herbst with as litt­le spe­cu­la­ti­on as pos­si­ble. But what would be more obvious than to take a typi­cal­ly Aus­tri­an approach to this? As a remi­nis­cence of the sup­po­sed­ly good old times, qujOchÖ the­re­fo­re depo­si­ted the pro­duc­tion bud­get of €16.576,03 in a savings account. A fixed inte­rest rate of 4.185 % for 100 years was nego­tia­ted with Stei­er­mär­ki­sche Spar­kas­se. The final capi­tal inclu­ding inte­rest the­re­fo­re amounts to exac­t­ly €1.000.000,30. The savings book was trans­fer­red to stei­ri­scher herbst by deed of gift on con­di­ti­on that the money is not acces­sed befo­re the 100 years have expi­red. As an addi­tio­nal gua­ran­tee, the savings book is depo­si­ted with a nota­ry public for this peri­od.

www.steirischerherbst.at
vimeo.com/13528636

(Pho­tos: Wolf­gang Sil­ve­ri, Anni­ka Strass­mair, qujOchÖ)


Video of Wer­ner Rydl’s bur­ning action on the beach of Reci­fe in March 2002
(Video/Editing: Wer­ner Rydl/Rainer Dechet)


Video of the inter­view with Wer­ner Rydl on June 5 2010
(Video/Editing: qujOchÖ)


Video of the exhi­bi­ti­on ope­ning on Sep­tem­ber 25 2010
(Video/Editing: qujOchÖ)

[audio:https://archive.org/download/DAS_GROSSE_MANOEVER1_OE1_Kulturjournal_27_09_2010_Part_1/DAS_GROSSE_MANO%cc%88VER_O%cc%881_Kulturjournal_27_09_2010_Part_1.mp3]

Down­load

[audio:https://archive.org/download/DAS_GROSSE_MANOEVER1_OE1_Kulturjournal_27_09_2010_Part_1/DAS_GROSSE_MANO%cc%88VER_O%cc%881_Kulturjournal_27_09_2010_Part_2.mp3]

Down­load

Das große Manöver: Über das Trickster_innenwesen im Kapitalimus

stei­ri­scher herbst

Aus­stel­lungs­er­öff­nung
Sa, 25. Sep­tem­ber 2010, 16:00
Jako­mi­ni­stra­ße, Graz

Aus­stel­lungs­dau­er
25. Sep­tem­ber bis 17. Okto­ber 2010

Künstler_innengespräche
2. und 9. Okto­ber 2010, jeweils 15:00

Scree­ning I
Sa, 2. Okto­ber 2010, 17:00 – 19:15
Wer­ner Rydl: Das gro­ße Manö­ver
Wer­ner Rydl: Embar­go (Bur­ning Money)
Wall Street: Aus­schnitt der “Gier-ist-Gut”-Rede von Gor­don Gek­ko
Futur­a­ma: Epi­so­de “Future Stock”

Scree­ning II:
Sa, 9. Okto­ber 2010, 17:00 – 19:15
Der “European Kings Club – E.K.C.” (1991–1994)
“L’objet du Scan­da­le” de Guil­lau­me Durand – Jérô­me Ker­viel
The Pon­zi Sche­me (Trai­ler)
Bombs, Bul­lets and Fraud – Dis­co­ver the Ori­gi­nal Pon­zi Sche­me (Aus­schnitt)

Sie kön­nen heu­te nicht nach­wei­sen, ob man jeman­dem etwa leicht­fer­tig die Vor­steu­er aner­kennt oder nicht aner­kennt, und dar­in liegt das gro­ße Manö­ver, wo man eben Steu­er­be­trä­ge mani­pu­lie­ren kann und in gewünsch­te Rich­tun­gen trans­fe­rie­ren kann.” (Inter­view mit Wer­ner Rydl am 13. Okto­ber 2004 in Sirinhaem/Brasilien)

Dubio­se Deals, Geld­wä­sche, gie­ri­ge Banker_innen – die aktu­el­le Kri­se rückt die undurch­sich­ti­gen Tak­ti­ken ein­zel­ner Trickster_innen auf den inter­na­tio­na­len Finanz­märk­ten wie­der ver­stärkt ans Licht der Öffent­lich­keit. Wäh­rend die einen mit Schuld­zu­wei­sun­gen und die ande­ren mit Beschwich­ti­gun­gen reagie­ren, ana­ly­siert das Lin­zer Kunst­kol­lek­tiv qujOchÖ die Metho­den derer, die finanz­ka­pi­ta­lis­ti­sche Zusam­men­hän­ge für ihre Zwe­cke aus­nüt­zen und das Sys­tem raf­fi­niert und nahe­zu undurch­schau­bar hin­ter­ge­hen: Wie­so fie­len so vie­le Men­schen auf die aben­teu­er­li­chen Ver­spre­chun­gen eines Charles Pon­zi her­ein? Wes­halb wur­de Ivan “Der Schreck­li­che” Boes­ky in sei­ner Gier-ist-Gut-Rede mit Applaus bedacht? Wie kam es dazu, dass Wer­ner Rydl am Strand in Bra­si­li­en 167 Mil­lio­nen Schil­ling ver­brann­te?

Jen­seits von Zei­ge­fin­ger­mo­ral und dem blo­ßen Anpran­gern der Trickster_innen erzeugt qujOchÖ eine demons­tra­ti­ve Ges­te, die ein Span­nungs­feld zu den trick­rei­chen Finanz­spe­ku­la­tio­nen erzeugt. Nach ein­ge­hen­der Dis­kus­si­on hat sich das Kunst­kol­lek­tiv dazu ent­schlos­sen, das vom stei­ri­schen herbst zur Ver­fü­gung gestell­te Pro­duk­ti­ons­bud­get mög­lichst unspe­ku­la­tiv zu ver­meh­ren. Was liegt dabei näher, als dafür einen typisch öster­rei­chi­schen Weg ein­zu­schla­gen? Als Remi­nis­zenz an die ver­meint­lich guten alten Zei­ten hat qujOchÖ daher das Pro­duk­ti­ons­bud­get in Höhe von 16.576,03 Euro auf ein Spar­buch gelegt. In Ver­hand­lun­gen mit der Stei­er­mär­ki­schen Spar­kas­se wur­de dafür ein fixer Zins­satz von 4,185 % für eine Lauf­zeit von 100 Jah­ren aus­ge­han­delt. Das damit erziel­te End­ka­pi­tal inkl. Zin­sen beträgt exakt 1.000.000,30 Euro. Über einen Schen­kungs­ver­trag wur­de das Spar­buch an den stei­ri­schen herbst über­ge­ben, mit der Bedin­gung, dass die­ser nicht vor Ablauf von 100 Jah­ren auf das Ver­mö­gen zugreift. Um dies zusätz­lich sicher­zu­stel­len, befin­det sich das Spar­buch für die­sen Zeit­raum zur Ver­wah­rung in den Hän­den eines öffent­li­chen Notars.

www.steirischerherbst.at
vimeo.com/13528636

(Fotos: Wolf­gang Sil­ve­ri, Anni­ka Strass­mair, qujOchÖ)


Video der Ver­bren­nungs­ak­ti­on von Wer­ner Rydl am Strand von Reci­fe im März 2002
(Video/Schnitt: Wer­ner Rydl/Rainer Dechet)


Video des Inter­views mit Wer­ner Rydl am 5. Juni 2010
(Video/Schnitt: qujOchÖ)


Video der Eröff­nung der Aus­stel­lung am 25. Sep­tem­ber 2010
(Video/Schnitt: qujOchÖ)

[audio:https://archive.org/download/DAS_GROSSE_MANOEVER1_OE1_Kulturjournal_27_09_2010_Part_1/DAS_GROSSE_MANO%cc%88VER_O%cc%881_Kulturjournal_27_09_2010_Part_1.mp3]Down­load [audio:https://archive.org/download/DAS_GROSSE_MANOEVER1_OE1_Kulturjournal_27_09_2010_Part_1/DAS_GROSSE_MANO%cc%88VER_O%cc%881_Kulturjournal_27_09_2010_Part_2.mp3]Down­load