Basterds: FPÖ rows back

Unex­pec­ted turn in the Linz cul­tu­ral war. After the FPÖ (Free­dom Par­ty of Aus­tria) has voted against the allo­ca­ti­on of sub­si­dies for the cul­tu­ral asso­cia­ti­ons KAPU, Stadt­werk­statt, Radio FRO, servus.at, qujOchÖ and Medi­en­werk­statt during the muni­ci­pal coun­cil ses­si­on on April 18th 2013 they are rowing back now. In a press release Det­lef Wim­mer, district chair­man of the FPÖ Linz, empha­si­zes that his group has made a mista­ke: “Actual­ly, we wan­ted to vote for an increa­se of sub­si­dies. In the cour­se of the tur­bu­len­ces regar­ding the neo­na­zi video of our group chair­man the days befo­re we have com­ple­te­ly lost the over­view. At the end Bas­ti­an suspec­ted even that I had to do some­thing with the sen­ding of the video to the edi­to­ri­al office of the Kurier. Ridi­cu­lous! I mean, we were com­ra­des like Adolf & Ernst, Itchi & Scratchy or Tonya Har­ding & Nan­cy Kerri­gan.”

As com­pen­sa­ti­on the FPÖ Linz has pro­du­ced a video in which the ori­gi­nal­ly anti­ci­pa­ted remark for the muni­ci­pal coun­cil ses­si­on is added.

In this video Wim­mer is self-cri­ti­cal at the begin­ning: “Citi­zens of Linz! KAPU, Stadt­werk­statt, Frei­es Radio Ober­ös­ter­reich, servus.at, qujOchÖ and Medi­en­werk­statt! Regar­ding the poli­ti­cal opi­ni­ons, the poli­ti­cal views, I have to bla­me mys­elf: to be out at bad wea­ther in the area of cul­tu­ral poli­cy into a shoreless hori­zon.” Sub­se­quent­ly he cri­ti­ci­zes the envi­sa­ged can­cel­la­ti­on of the sub­si­dies and pro­mi­ses that his group of the BFJ (Fede­ra­ti­on of the Free­dom Youth) would “[…] sup­port this sub­si­dies for the asso­cia­ti­ons KAPU, Stadt­werk­statt, Frei­es Radio Ober­ös­ter­reich, servus.at, qujOchÖ and Medi­en­werk­statt total­ling 279.100 Euro per year, that is in total 558.200 Euro for the years 2013 and 2014, may­be fur­ther opti­mi­zed here or the­re”. His fel­low com­ra­des of the par­ty Bas­ti­an & Gott­fried back up this posi­ti­on expli­citly once again, look to the future and demand with regard to the cul­tu­ral bud­get of the City of Linz: “Und aufi!” (And up and away)

The video was rea­li­zed with the help of exor­bi­tant fun­dings and spon­so­ring. Thanks go out to the European Film­fond Eurimages, Direc­to­ra­te-Gene­ral for Edu­ca­ti­on and Cul­tu­re (European Com­mis­si­on), Aus­tri­an Film Insti­tu­te, bm:ukk, Land Ober­ös­ter­reich, Stadt Linz, Raiff­ei­sen­bank , HYPO , Ober­bank Linz, Ers­te Bank Linz, Uni­credit Bank Aus­tria Linz, BAWAG P.S.K. Linz, Volks­bank Linz, SPARDA BANK Linz and Quen­tin Taran­ti­no.


(Video/Editing: Take That/qujOchÖ, Audio: Radio FRO/Oliver Jagosch)

Basterds: FPÖ rudert zurück

Uner­war­te­te Wen­de im Lin­zer Kul­tur­kampf. Nach­dem die FPÖ in der Gemein­de­rats­sit­zung vom 18. April 2013 gegen die Sub­ven­ti­ons­ver­ga­be der Kul­tur­ver­ei­ne KAPU, Stadt­werk­statt, Radio FRO, servus.at, qujOchÖ und Medi­en­werk­statt gestimmt hat­te, rudert sie nun zurück. In einer Pres­se­aus­sen­dung betont Det­lef Wim­mer, Bezirks­par­tei­ob­mann der FPÖ Linz, dass sei­ner Frak­ti­on ein Feh­ler unter­lau­fen sei: “Eigent­lich woll­ten wir für eine Erhö­hung der Sub­ven­tio­nen stim­men. Durch die Tur­bu­len­zen rund um das Neo­na­zi-Video mit unse­rem Frak­ti­ons­ob­mann in den Tagen davor haben wir jedoch jeg­li­chen Über­blick ver­lo­ren. Der Bas­ti­an hat am Ende sogar mich ver­däch­tigt, dass ich etwas damit zu tun gehabt hät­te, dass das Video an die Kurier-Redak­ti­on geschickt wur­de. Lächer­lich, ich mei­ne, wir waren Kame­ra­den wie Adolf & Ernst, Itchi & Scratchy oder Tonya Har­ding & Nan­cy Kerri­gan.”

Als Wie­der­gut­ma­chung hat die Lin­zer FPÖ ein Video pro­du­ziert, das mit der ursprüng­lich gedach­ten Wort­mel­dung für die Gemein­de­rats­sit­zung unter­legt ist.

In die­sem gibt sich Wim­mer zu Beginn selbst­kri­tisch: “Lin­ze­rin­nen und Lin­zer! KAPU, Stadt­werk­statt, Frei­es Radio Ober­ös­ter­reich, servus.at, qujOchÖ und Medi­en­werk­statt! Was die poli­ti­sche Mei­nung, die poli­ti­schen Ansich­ten, betrifft, da habe ich mir etwas vor­zu­wer­fen: bei Schlecht­wet­ter im Bereich der Kul­tur­po­li­tik unter­wegs zu sein zu einer ufer­lo­sen Wei­te.” In spä­te­rer Fol­ge kri­ti­siert er die ange­dach­te Strei­chung der Sub­ven­ti­ons­ver­ga­be und ver­spricht, dass sei­ne Frak­ti­on des BFJ “[…] bei den Ver­ei­nen KAPU, Stadt­werk­statt, Frei­es Radio Ober­ös­ter­reich, servus.at, qujOchÖ und Medi­en­werk­statt die­sen Ver­eins­för­de­run­gen im Gesamt­aus­maß von 279.100 Euro pro Jahr, somit ins­ge­samt 558.200 Euro für die Jah­re 2013 und 2014, viel­leicht da oder dort noch etwas opti­miert, auch zustim­men” wer­de. Sei­ne Par­tei­ka­me­ra­den Bas­ti­an & Gott­fried bekräf­ti­gen die­se Posi­ti­on noch­mals deut­lich, rich­ten den Blick in die Zukunft und for­dern im Hin­blick auf das Kul­tur­bud­get der Stadt Linz: “Und aufi!”

Das Video wur­de mit Hil­fe exor­bi­tan­ter För­de­run­gen und Spon­so­ring­bei­trä­ge rea­li­siert. Der Dank geht u. a. an Euro­päi­scher Film­fonds Eurimages, Gene­ral­di­rek­ti­on Bil­dung und Kul­tur – Euro­päi­sche Kom­mis­si­on, Öster­rei­chi­sches Film­in­sti­tut, bm:ukk, Land Ober­ös­ter­reich, Stadt Linz, Raiff­ei­sen­bank , HYPO , Ober­bank Linz, Ers­te Bank Linz, Uni­credit Bank Aus­tria Linz, BAWAG P.S.K. Linz, Volks­bank Linz, SPARDA BANK Linz und Quen­tin Taran­ti­no.


(Video/Schnitt: Take That/qujOchÖ, Audio: Radio FRO/Oliver Jagosch)