SonicWords – A collection for female super heroes

JUDITH MAULE (AUT)

Pre­sen­ta­ti­on: Mon, Octo­ber 15th 2007, 19:00
Dis­play win­dow exhi­bi­ti­on: Fri, Octo­ber 16th – Fri, Octo­ber 30th 2007
quitch, Unte­re Donau­län­de 10, Linz

Here they are back again, tho­se heroes who fasci­na­ted me ever sin­ce i was a kid. They can fly, throw cars kilo­me­tres away, turn them­sel­ves into crea­tures of fla­mes or ice or beco­me invi­si­ble … super heroes inha­bit our world again and ther­e­by our minds!” (Judith Mau­le, SonicWords)

On Octo­ber 15th 2007 the artist and fashion desi­gner Judith Mau­le pres­ents her diplo­ma collec­tion “SonicWords”. The collec­tion con­sists of eight fema­le super hero suits based on clas­si­cal cos­tu­mes from the 1940s to the 1960s. For the fashion maker the ever­y­day weara­bi­li­ty of the desi­gned pie­ces is important in par­ti­cu­lar – wit­hout aban­do­ning the for­mal stan­dards of fema­le super hero cos­tu­mes. Ono­ma­to­po­eic words like “Ka-chuck”, “Boom” or “Aieee”, so cal­led SonicWords, extend the indi­vi­du­al models in form of embroi­de­ries – they func­tion as eponyms of the collec­tion and the eight dif­fe­rent designs.

In addi­ti­on to the collec­tion a comic has been crea­ted in which the pho­to­gra­phed models and drawings have been imple­men­ted in the form of col­la­ges. The comic is shown on a home­page with text mate­ri­als and detail views of the cos­tu­mes. The diplo­ma pre­sen­ta­ti­on of the collec­tion takes place on Octo­ber 15th 2007 at the quitch. On the one hand the indi­vi­du­al models will be shown, on the other hand a medi­al pre­sen­ta­ti­on of the home­page and the clot­hing takes place. The evening will be accom­pa­nied musi­cal­ly by DJ Revol­ver Dog.

In the dis­play win­dow of the quitch pic­tures of the collec­tion and indi­vi­du­al pie­ces will be shown for the fol­lo­wing two weeks.

feedbackanddisaster.net/sonicwords

sonic_words_071015_01

Pic­tu­re 1 of 11

(Pho­tos: Andre­as Kurz/Hannah Mau­le)

SonicWords – Eine Kollektion für Superheldinnen

JUDITH MAULE (AUT)

Prä­sen­ta­ti­on: Mo, 15. Okto­ber 2007, 19:00
Schau­fens­ter­aus­stel­lung: Fr, 16. – Fr, 30. Okto­ber 2007
quitch, Unte­re Donau­län­de 10, Linz

Da sind sie also wie­der die­se Hel­dIn­nen, die mich schon als Kind in ihren Bann gezo­gen haben. Sie könen flie­gen, Autos kilo­me­ter­weit wer­fen, sich in Flam­men- oder Eis­we­sen ver­wan­deln oder unsicht­bar wer­den … Super­hel­dIn­nen bewoh­nen wie­der unse­re Welt und mit ihr unse­re Köp­fe!” (Judith Mau­le, SonicWords)

Am 15. Okto­ber 2007 prä­sen­tiert die Künst­le­rin und Mode­schaf­fen­de Judith Mau­le ihre Diplom-Kol­lek­ti­on “SonicWords”. Die Kol­lek­ti­on umfasst acht Super­hel­din­nen-Suits, die in Anleh­nung an die klas­si­schen Kos­tü­me der Super­hel­din­nen aus den 1940er bis 1960er Jah­ren ent­stan­den. Der Mode­schaf­fen­den ist im Beson­de­ren die Trag­bar­keit der ent­wor­fe­nen Stü­cke im All­tag wich­tig, ohne dabei auf die for­ma­len Vor­ga­ben des Super­hel­din­nen­kos­tüms zu ver­zich­ten. Schall­wör­ter wie “Ka-chuck”, “Boom” oder “Aieee”, soge­nann­te SonicWords, erwei­tern als Sti­cke­rei­en die ein­zel­nen Model­le – sie fun­gie­ren als Namens­ge­ber der Kol­lek­ti­on und der acht ver­schie­de­nen Ent­wür­fe.

Zusätz­lich zur Kol­lek­ti­on ent­stand eine Comic-Geschich­te, in der die abfo­to­gra­fier­ten Model­le und Zeich­nun­gen die­ser in Form von Col­la­gen ein­ge­ar­bei­tet wur­den. Die Comic­ge­schich­te wird auf einer Home­page mit Text­ma­te­ri­al und Detail­an­sich­ten der Kos­tü­me gezeigt. Im quitch fin­det am 15. Okto­ber 2007 die Diplom­prä­sen­ta­ti­on der Kol­lek­ti­on statt. Einer­seits wer­den die ein­zel­nen Model­le gezeigt, ande­rer­seits fin­det eine media­le Prä­sen­ta­ti­on der Home­page und der Beklei­dung statt. Musi­ka­lisch wird der Abend von DJ Revol­ver Dog beglei­tet.

Im Schau­fens­ter des quitch wer­den die fol­gen­den zwei Wochen Bil­der der Kol­lek­ti­on und ein­zel­ne Stü­cke aus­ge­stellt.

feedbackanddisaster.net/sonicwords

sonic_words_071015_01

(Fotos: Andre­as Kurz/Hannah Mau­le)